• support@answerspoint.com

List of Indian Premier League seasons and results

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a domestic, annual Twenty20 cricket tournament in India, organized by the IPL Governing Council, under the aegis of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). It is the most watched Twenty20 tournament and the second-best paying sporting league globally.

IPL was established in 2008 and currently consists of eight teams in eight cities across India. The inaugural IPL season was won by Rajasthan Royals. As of March 2018, there have been ten seasons of the IPL tournament, with the latest eleventh season being conducted from April to May 2018.

The IPL tournament involves each team playing every other team twice in a home-and-away, double round-robin format. At the conclusion of the double round-robin league, the top four teams on the basis of aggregate points qualify for the playoffs. In this stage, the top two teams compete with each other (in a match titled "Qualifier 1"), as do the remaining two teams (in a match titled "Eliminator"). While the winner of Qualifier 1 directly qualifies for the final match, the losing team gets another chance to qualify for the final match by playing the winning team of the Eliminator match; this match is titled Qualifier 2.The winner of this subsequent Qualifier 2 match moves onto the final match. The team that wins the final match is crowned the Indian Premier League champion.

IPL season results


Season Final Final venue Number of teams Player of the series
Winner Winning margin Runner-up
Rajasthan Royals
164/7 (20 overs)
Won by 3 wickets
Chennai Super Kings
163/5 (20 overs)
DY Patil Stadium 8  Shane Watson
Deccan Chargers
143/6 (20 overs)
Won by 6 runs
Royal Challengers Bangalore
137/9 (20 overs)
Wanderers Stadium
(Johhanesburg, South Africa)
8  Adam Gilchrist
Chennai Super Kings
168/5 (20 overs)
Won by 22 runs
Mumbai Indians
146/9 (20 overs)
DY Patil Stadium 8  Sachin Tendulkar
Chennai Super Kings
205/5 (20 overs)
Won by 58 runs
Royal Challengers Bangalore
147/8 (20 overs)
M. A. Chidambaram Stadium 10  Chris Gayle
Kolkata Knight Riders
192/5 (19.4 overs)
Won by 5 wickets
Chennai Super Kings
190/3 (20 overs)
M. A. Chidambaram Stadium 9  Sunil Narine
Mumbai Indians
148/9 (20 overs)
Won by 23 runs
Chennai Super Kings
125/9 (20 overs)
Eden Gardens 9  Shane Watson
Kolkata Knight Riders
200/7 (19.3 overs)
Won by 3 wickets
Kings XI Punjab
199/4 (20 overs)
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium 8  Glenn Maxwell
Mumbai Indians
202/5 (20 overs)
Won by 41 runs
Chennai Super Kings
161/8 (20 overs)
Eden Gardens 8  Andre Russell
Sunrisers Hyderabad
208/7 (20 overs)
Won by 8 runs
Royal Challengers Bangalore
200/7 (20 overs)
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium 8  Virat Kohli
Mumbai Indians
129/8 (20 overs)
Won by 1 run
Rising Pune Supergiant
128/6 (20 overs)
Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium 8  Ben Stokes


Overall team results

Team 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Delhi Daredevils 4th 3rd 5th 10th 3rd 9th 8th 7th 6th 6th
Gujarat Lions DNP DNP DNP DNP DNP DNP DNP DNP 3rd 7th
Kings XI Punjab 3rd 5th 8th 5th 6th 6th 2nd 8th 8th 5th
Kolkata Knight Riders 6th 8th 6th 4th 1st 7th 1st 5th 4th 3rd
Mumbai Indians 5th 7th 2nd 3rd 4th 1st 4th 1st 5th 1st
Rising Pune Supergiant DNP DNP DNP DNP DNP DNP DNP DNP 7th 2nd
Royal Challengers Bangalore 7th 2nd 3rd 2nd 5th 5th 7th 3rd 2nd 8th
Sunrisers Hyderabad DNP DNP DNP DNP DNP 4th 6th 6th 1st 4th
Chennai Super Kings 2nd 4th 1st 1st 2nd 2nd 3rd 2nd SUS SUS
Rajasthan Royals 1st 6th 7th 6th 7th 3rd 5th 4th SUS SUS
Deccan Chargers 8th 1st 4th 7th 8th DEF DEF DEF DEF DEF
Pune Warriors India DNP DNP DNP 9th 9th 8th DEF DEF DEF DEF
Kochi Tuskers Kerala DNP DNP DNP 8th DEF DEF DEF DEF DEF DEF


    Facebook Share        
  • asked 5 years ago
  • viewed 2682 times
  • active 5 years ago

Top Rated Blogs