• support@answerspoint.com

List of districts of Sikkim, Its headquarters, Population and Literacy.

Sikkim is the 22nd state of India came into existence with effect from 26th April, 1975. The population of Sikkim is 610,578 (2011 census) and the state covers an area of 7,096 km sq. It is surrounded by Tibetan Plateaus in the north, the Chumbi Valley of Tibet and the Kingdom of Bhutan in the east, the Kingdom of Nepal in the west and  West Bengal in the south. Sikkim is divided into four districts and has eight towns and nine sub divisions.

Sikkim is a popular tourist destination and has an open land border with China. Gangtok is Sikkim's capital and largest city. The economy of Sikkim is largely dependent on agriculture and tourism. 

A large number of mountains having altitudes of about seven thousand meters stands here with - Kanchenjunga (8598 m.), The third highest peak in the world. The high serrated, snow capped spurs and peaks of Kanchenjunga look attractive consisting of Kumbha Karna (7711 m.), Pendem (6706 m.), Narsingh (5825 m.), Kabru Dome (6545 m.), etc. A number of glaciers descends from eastern slopes of Kanchenjunga into Sikkim where snow clad line is found above 5300 mtrs. The biggest of them is Zemu, from whose snout above Lachen monastery rises the river Teesta. Teesta is the main river and its main tributaries are Zemu, Lachung, Rangyong, Dikchu, Rongli, Rangpo and Rangit.


Sr. No. District District HQ Population (2011) Growth Sex Ratio Literacy Area (km2) Density (/km2)
01 East Sikkim Gangtok 283583 15.73% 873 83.85 954 295
02 North Sikkim Mangan 43709 6.53% 767 78.01 4226 10
03 South Sikkim Namchi 146850 11.65% 915 81.42 750 196
04 West Sikkim Geyzing 136435 10.69% 942 77.39 1166 117
    Facebook Share        
  • asked 5 years ago
  • viewed 1956 times
  • active 5 years ago

Top Rated Blogs